What a foodie does on her first day at home in Helsinki?

Cinnamon bun rolls are very traditional Finnish bakery. My spouse chooses buns over all other bakeries so I baked them as well among other things.

Cinnamon bun rolls are very traditional Finnish bakery. My spouse chooses buns over all other bakeries so I baked them as well among other things.

I spent 6 months in Thailand and was very happy about all the vegetarian restaurants and vegan food I experienced there. I didn´t miss my kitchen or the restaurants and supermarkets of Helsinki. Still when I arrived in Finland, I ended up spending most of my first day buying food and baking.

I made my favourite tofu cheese cake that is not too fatty or sweet.

I made my favourite tofu cheese cake that is not too fatty or sweet.

Spinach tofu pie is my favourite salty pie.

Spinach tofu pie is my favourite salty pie.

I don´t eat much any other breads than this rye bread. I came home at 3 am and ate a sandwich of rye bread, margarine, mustard, smoked tofu, cucumber and cucumber pickle.

I don´t eat much any other breads than this rye bread. I came home at 3 am and ate a sandwich of rye bread, margarine, mustard, smoked tofu, cucumber and cucumber pickle.

I had wraps with hummus, avocado, marinated eggplant and zucchini and salad.

I had wraps with hummus, avocado, marinated eggplant and zucchini and salad.

In Thailand I was okay with not cooking anything myself. Especially I was happy not having to wash dishes and clean up after cooking.

In Thailand I was okay with not cooking anything myself. Especially I was happy not having to wash dishes and clean up after cooking.

Asian foods belong to my staple diet so I needed to go and buy some mushroom soy sauce, sesame oil, lemongrass, coriander, tempeh etc.

Asian foods belong to my staple diet so I needed to go and buy some mushroom soy sauce, sesame oil, lemongrass, coriander, tempeh etc. from an Asian shop.

On my second day in Helsinki I went to grill some soy sausages at my friend´s.

On my second day in Helsinki I went to grill some soy sausages at my friend´s.

 

2 responses to “What a foodie does on her first day at home in Helsinki?

  1. These foods all look very delicious. I would love to try the spinach tofu pie and the wrap. Are there any traditional Finnish food that also happens to be vegan?

Leave a Reply

